Hooping at the Oregon Coast

I have returned from two nights in a vacation rental with eleven of the most amazingly beautiful women.  When I was asked to go on this weekend retreat by one of my co-workers, I expected to be the only one who knew no one and that no one knew.  It turned out to be a hodgepodge of women and everyone was new to everyone.  These women were beautiful and strong, and I look forward to seeing them next year.

The Oregon Coast is a perfect spot for hooping. The openness and beauty.

The entire weekend was an unexpected awesome experience.  And as I was delighted and happy to meet these outrageous women, the highlights of the trip were my hoop workouts. Me, my ipod, my hoop.

HooptomyLoo can be a big stress for me. I worry that I made the wrong decision in starting this hooping business and I that I shouldn’t be doing it.  I talk down to myself about it sometimes and stress about it, worry and complain. Beat myself up for questioning my decisions.

Usually, I’ve realized, I am my harshest critic and I start to let regret in when I haven’t been hooping.

My hooping workouts this weekend were magical. It was open and I had the space to let my body fly around and play like a child, run around, scream, laugh and dance.  I get down on myself too often, criticizing myself about my weight, my debt, my lack of organization, but hooping takes that away. It was nice to have the openness to just let loose. And I didn’t care how I looked.  I wanted people to watch me hoop because I know it’s beautiful. I’ve watched great hoopers move and it’s  awesome to see. And I’ve realized that I’m good.  I may not be as good as that person or that person, but I know that I’m good. I know that hooping make’s me good. I didn’t always believe it.  I believe it now because I love doing it and I feel beautiful when I hoop. It’s the reason why I hoop in the first place and it was great to be able to remind myself.

Hooping allows me to sort through my life.  Taking an hour a day to go be in my hoop puts me more into my life. It keeps me grounded, refreshes me, and makes me right.

As  I finished hooping, I ran up from the ocean and my friend was sitting on the beach doing a sudoku puzzle. I remember thinking how we are the same, but yet so very different. I use hooping to decompress  and my friend chose puzzles for her release. And being in the house with these women, I watched several of them struggle with relaxing. They hadn’t done it in so long it was like they had forgotten how.  And I was so thankful for my hoop.

What do you do when you need to feel refreshed and rejuvenated? Is hooping your drug of choice?

2 thoughts on “Hooping at the Oregon Coast

  1. I wish I’d been with you. It sounds wonderful. You made me see it through your eyes. I haven’t done anything like that for a long, long time. That’s what I call soul food. Maybe you’ll let me go next year. I don’t eat much. 🙂

  2. Yeah, I didn’t eat much either. Eleven ladies who are away from their husbands and children are a force to be reckoned with. You don’t need food while you are there. You can just live off the energy around you.

Leave a Reply

