What would I do without my hoop?

Sure, I see it. I see the glaze that cast over people’s eyes when I start talking about hooping. It’s okay. I won’t bore you when you don’t get my passion. I’m not offended at all by your blankness and your grumbles under your breath.  It’s cool. I just want you to know that there are more of me out there. We are a growing society, a warming community who have all have been touched by this plastic circle. And we love talking about it.

I can’t imagine where I would be without my hoop. I am going through some changes in this young life of mine and with me every step of the way is my hula hoop. Yeah yah, for those of you who don’t get it, well you don’t get it. It’s okay. I won’t try to make you get it. I won’t make you sip on the hooping juice. But I have been able to release my emotions, my pessimistic self, my fears, my short-comings into my hoop. And I can tell when I haven’t been inside JaMokaMoka (the name of my favorite hoop).  My emotions are bigger, the vision of my self more jaded and my entire outlook on this tough life seem far more dramatic.

My relationships in my life come and go. I’m fickle, stubborn, loud, unreserved, emotional and hard to handle. I often am too much for people. But I am something different inside of my hoop. I am not done with this life. Forever I’ll strive to learn more about me and what this world can offer. And unexplainably it is the hoop that keeps me positive, grounded and in control of my spastic and childlike emotions.  And it is seriously okay if you want to roll your eyes. But know it is  my passion and makes me a better person.

What is your passion? Have you sipped on the hooping juice?

Leave a Reply

