Every Hoop has a Beginning, Doen’t It? Part 9

Part 9

Every Hoop has a Beginning, Doen’t It? Part 9

Continued from Part 8

The night after the first class, I could not stop thinking about how the hoop would hit my body if I moved this way or that. I lay in bed thinking about me and a circle, geometrically. The shape of my body and a hoop fit together like so many of memories of my childhood. Toys I once played with on the floor of my grandmother’s house, fire rings we sat around, shapes of circles and doorways danced in my head. As though I just ended my first date with my hoop, I lay in bed thinking about our wedding.

The second day of our two day series, I remember finding a nice spot in front of a mirror.  I don’t think I ever thought this before in my life, but I was totally enamored, totally mesmerized with myself. I know this sounds crazy and narcissistic, but I looked good. The person I saw in that mirror looked exactly like the woman I wanted to be. I couldn’t believe how beautiful I felt, and there for the first time, I could see how beautiful I was.

Chapter 2

Leave a Reply

