It’s All in the Tape. Part 4

Notice the nice Christmas Tree stand. Super safe. OSHA approved. mmm. maybe not.

Notice the nice Christmas Tree stand. Super safe. OSHA approved. mmm. maybe not.

It’s All in the Tape. Part 4

Continued from Chapter 3 Part 3

The house I lived in was a perfect house for owning a hoop business I remember thinking one day after I’d cut another hundred feet of tubing.  Even the two post foundations that were in the basement were perfectly distanced from each other so I could stretch out all the hoops I needed. There was a garage that was big enough to house thirty hoops and two cars.

But I still had hoops everywhere. I did my best to constrain them, but like children my hoops only wanted to play. I’d build hoop stands to try and make sense of this new inventory I had start creating. I had imagined my beautiful sparkly hoops hanging from a post, a well decorated post that resembled something like a maypole. I wanted hoops hanging low and high, sparkly and joyful. What I made was pretty and joyful alright, but being held up by a Christmas tree stand I had found in someone’s trash, didn’t make it very durable.

But it had been pretty and bright.  I had started ordering tape from a number of different companies I found on the web, and since my roommate had told me that the red tape on the first hoop I bought was wrapped with gaffer tape, the same tape they use for stages and production, I went straight for the gaffer.

I found every single color and I chose the brightest I could find. I wrapped that post in the neon green, neon orange, neon pink, and neon yellow. It was like a hoop beacon. There was no missing it.

 

Leave a Reply

