It’s All in the Tape. Part 5

hoop to my loo

It’s All in the Tape. Part 5

Continued from Part 4.

There was no manuel on how I was suppose to start a hoop business. I had cues from the hoop business that were doing well, but all I could think abut was getting hoops into people’s hands. My passion for hooping guided me passed any second thoughts I was having. Ready or not I was about to start a business.

Of course my new business needed a name. At the time of starting it, the most important thing that hooping gave me was the ability to play, the ability to feel like a child. I loved the fact the hoop made me feel young and vibrant. I wanted my business to have a name that would immediately make you feel like a kid, but upon investigation always have a bigger meaning.

I started going through a list of words that would bring a sense of naivety and perhaps nostalgia.  I spent a few days always writing down new ideas, but nothing seem to stick.  After going through a dozen or so, I started listing kids songs and games. One night while I brainstorming with a friend, hoop to my loo came to our heads. Hoop to my loo? All night long I could not stop singing, “hoop, hoop, hoop to my loo,” but how was “loo” spelled? Loo or Lou?  I started to search for a history of the song “skip to my lou.”

Thanks to wikipedia I found Skip to my lou, had a unique history.

Skip to My Lou” is a popular children’s song. Skip to My (The) Lou was a popular partner-stealing dance from America’s frontier period. In early America, ‘respectable folks’ in strict Protestant communities regarded the fiddleas one of the devil’s tools (if it led to dancing, which was regarded as sinful). Faced with such a religious obstacle to socializing, young people developed the “play-party,” in which all the objectionable features of dancing were removed or masked so that grave elders would overlook their activity. The dancers sang and the audienceclapped to create rhythm for their own music. In time, the play-party acquired a life of its own. It became an ideal amusement for teenagers and young married couples. In many a frontier community, the bear hunters, Indian fighters, the rough keelboat men and the wild cowboys could be seen dancing innocently with their gals, like so many children at a Sunday school picnic. As people moved westward and communities shrugged off the ‘witch-hunt’ mentality which plagued early Protestant New England, square dancing and barn dancing became acceptable, at least to some. The “loo” in the title is the Scottish word for “love.” The spelling change from “loo” to “lou” probably happened as Anglo-Americans, and the song, became Americanized.

 

Leave a Reply

